Friendship Bracelets

As I wait patiently for my sewing machine to arrive, I am spending some time making friendship bracelets!  I have made lots before.  But the thing is, after a while the bracelets wear out.  Therefore, I am currently replenishing friendship bracelet drawer.

I have found that the best string for this type of bracelet is embroidery floss, such as JP Coats or DMC.  Most craft stores have a variety of types and colors of embroidery floss.  I do have a package of “Friendship Bracelet Floss”, but in the process of making a bracelet the floss gets tension and these strings broke causing me to be unable to finish certain bracelets.

IMG_0382

The green/blue one I made using this pattern. It is an Alpha pattern.

Blue/purple/pink bracelet has five strings. I used this normal pattern.

The silver/black bracelet is just a simple stripe.

Friendship-bracelets.net has tons of patterns for these types of bracelets, including Alpha patterns, Kumihimo patterns, and normal patterns.  Another website with lots of patterns is braceletbook.com.  I prefer Friendship-Bracelets.net, although BraceletBook does have an app.

IMG_0383IMG_0380

Disney

I made my first Alpha bracelet in January/February.  This bracelet is 1.5 inches wide, and is 31 strings across.  It took me 2 weeks to make, using every spare moment of my time.  It is the simplest type of Alpha bracelet, with just 2 colors.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have a good camera to take pictures of it before I needed to mail it off as a birthday present.

 

disneybracelet

Leave a comment

Filed under Articles

Leave a comment