Doll Shoe Shelf

IMG_0510.JPG

 

My attempt to organize my living space is progressing.  I realized this past week that I have kept the box my Kidz n Cats doll came in for no particular reason.  It simply just hadn’t made it to the trash bin yet.  Good thing!  This post inspired me to do something with the box.  I thought about it for a while (about 10 minutes) and decided to make a shelf to store my doll shoes on.  Right now, I have about 12 pairs, but I plan on buying more/making more in the near future.

The cardboard that the Kidz doll was attached to inside the box is intensely strong and durable, yet incredibly thin.  It is such amazing cardboard (I think from Germany).  Another good thing about the cardboard was the edges were turned over, making a nice finished look for the outside of my shelves:

 

IMG_0503.JPG

 

Since Kidz dolls are 18″, the box is taller than my dolls.  It’s not really meant to be doll furniture, really just a way to organize things!

IMG_0508.JPG

 

I covered the sides and shelves with scrap booking paper.  American Girl often has multiple colors and patterns mixed together, I thought my color choices matched their ideas.  I glued flower print green on top, red dots for the shelves, and blue stripes on the sides.

 

IMG_0498.JPG

 

Each shelf holds about 4 pairs of shoes.  If they are wide shoes, then less.

IMG_0496.JPG

After making the basic structure I decided to make the most of it!  I hand-screwed cup hooks to the side to hang things on.  Scroll down!

IMG_0511.JPG

 

On the opposite side of the shelf, I cut two little extra shelves and hot glued them to add a little more storage space.

IMG_0512.JPG

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Doll Furniture

4 responses to “Doll Shoe Shelf

  1. Flo

    Another great use for a box!!! That turned out really cute.

  2. Bright idea and exactly what I need a.nd can easily do. Thanks

  3. Pingback: store display fixtures or home additions? « Mommy's Doll Club

Leave a comment