American Girl September Outfit

front

This is the first outfit I have made for my doll using my sewing machine!  It was a learning experience, so everything isn’t perfect, but that’s okay.

Technically for this outfit to be classified as a “Fall Outfit”, I feel that it would need a light sweater.  Therefore, I titled the post “September Outfit”.

The tank top was made with the dress pattern here.  I excluded the skirt and lengthened the bodice about an inch at the bottom.  It attaches in the back with Velcro.

The skirt pattern I used is included in Simplicity 4297, which was given to me by a friend.  This skirt was skirt A.  It attaches on the side with Velcro.

The scarf I made using this tutorial on PixieFaire.com.

The flower I attached using hot glue to a small pink clip.  The flower tutorial is from here.  I also made this flower for another outfit here.

And the boots I actually made last week for my Kidz n Cats doll, but they matched this outfit and fit my American Girl Doll well.  So, my Kidz n Cats doll will have to wait a bit for her boots.

I’ve already bought fabric for my American Girl Doll’s Halloween costume, and am designing it!  Here’s a clue to what it will be:  This character was played by Julie Andrews in the movie, which takes place in the 1920s.

backishupperlower

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Accessories, American Girl Doll Clothing Patterns, Shoes, Skirts, Tops

3 responses to “American Girl September Outfit

  1. Pingback: American Girl October Outfit | The By Kids for Kids Blog

  2. Pingback: Doll Living Room Photos | The By Kids for Kids Blog

  3. Pingback: On the Hill – A Short Photo Shoot | The By Kids for Kids Blog

Leave a comment