Things to Say in Italian

italianItalian Pronunciation Guide:

            Most of the sounds in Italian are similar to English.  Vowels are more like Spanish.  Each vowel says only one sound.  See below:

A                     ah

E                      ay (said how you would say the letter ‘A’)

I                       eye

O                     oh

U                     oo

Combinations include ‘Ch’, ‘gn’, ‘ia’.  Obviously there are much more combinations that produce their own sound.

Read the below Italian words and their English translation.

Che cosa leggete?

What are you reading?

Quanti anni hai?

How old are you?

Di che cosa ha bisogno il direttore?

What does the director need?

Io parlo Italiano.

I am speaking Italian/I speak Italian.

Ho torto.

I’m wrong.

3 Comments

Filed under Articles

3 responses to “Things to Say in Italian

  1. Pingback: Start flying in Italian, sort of | My Five Romances

  2. Pingback: Conquering plurals in Italian, and Henry’s here to help | My Five Romances

Leave a comment