Day 2: Easter Eggs and Holder

Easter eggs!  I used white Sculpey Polymer Clay to make these eggs.

First I rolled a some clay into a small ball.

DSCN3276I shaped the ball into an egg shape by rolling the circle in my hand, but doing it more on one half of the circle than on the other.

DSCN3277 I made seven of these and baked them.  They took about 45 minutes to bake.

DSCN3279

After the eggs were baked, I used them to make the holder.  I formed the clay into a rectangle, about 3/8 of an inch thick.  I placed the egg on the rectangle and squished it down.
DSCN3283I did this eight times.  Squishing the clay around with the eggs distorted the original rectangle, so before I baked the holder I  smoothed everything out and corrected the edges.  The holder took about an hour to bake.
DSCN3286

Once everything was baked, I mixed together some acrylic paint and painted the eggs each a different color.  I painted the holder brown.

Finished product!

DSCN3344DSCN3349DSCN3348DSCN3343 The eggs are hiding in the grass 🙂

DSCN3351 Size comparison!DSCN3353 Now the Easter baskets have colored eggs in them!DSCN3357

Leave a comment

Filed under crafts

Leave a Reply

