Kidz n Cats Doll Blue Dress

This dress was made from an altered version of this dress pattern for free here.  It is designed as a one-strap dress, but to make a two sleeved version of it, I cut the fabric on a fold with the center of the pattern on the fold, so when I am done I have two straps!  I didn’t use a pattern for the skirt.  For some reason almost every time I make a dress for my Kidz n Cats doll, I don’t have enough fabric to make the skirt as long as I would like.  I was already planning on overlaying the plain cornflower blue cotton with the blue chiffon.  When I realized the cotton would be shorter than planned, I made the chiffon overlay longer to make the dress more appropriate.  The result isn’t quite ideal, but that’s okay.  Both fabrics I got from the remnant section of the fabric stores I shop at.  The bodice is self-lined with white cotton.  Also, this shade of blue isn’t exactly an Easter blue, but it matches her eyes well.

Now all three of my girl dolls have Easter dresses.  Planning ahead!

IMG_1439 IMG_1440

I did a sepia effect on accident for this one and kept it 🙂
IMG_1451 IMG_1456

When she’s sitting, she can completely hide behind her long golden hair.IMG_1442

Leave a comment

Filed under Kidz n Cats Clothing Patterns

Leave a Reply

