American Girl Doll December Ruffle Dress

full body

On Pinterest I have seen a lot of ruffly t-shirt dresses for dolls.  When I realized that each time I saw one I repinned it to my “Sewing Ideas” board, I decided I’d better make one!  I used this t-shirt pattern, with the 3/4 sleeve variation.  I made no alterations to the pattern.

For the skirt part, I cut rectangles about 2″x20″ and 2 1/2″x20″.  I gathered them separately, then attached with a finishing stitch to the top.  I didn’t hem the edges on the skirt.  All other seams are finished, besides the one that attaches the sleeves to the body.

If I were to do it again (which I probably will do in a different fabric), I would remove the hem allowance from the t-shirt before attaching the skirt.  On this dress, the skirt begins a bit lower than I would like.

Merry Christmas!

back (2)sideways dressskirtfrontback

Leave a comment

Filed under American Girl Doll Clothing Patterns, Dresses

Leave a Reply

