American Girl Doll Christmas Outfit

IMG_0911.JPG

Being as how it is exactly 3 weeks today until Christmas, it was time for some seasonal clothes for my dolls.  I made this black striped sparkle sweater using Simplicity Pattern 4297 shirt A and an “old” sweater shirt.  This pattern is basically like a Baseball tee, only for thicker fabric.  I also used it for this outfit to make a pink sweater.  The pattern is fast and simple to put together, especially because I used the finished edges of the old sweater for all the edges of this doll sweater.  Not hemming edges saves a lot of time!  The pattern also involves a neckband, which I excluded when making this sweater and hemmed the neckline instead.  This alteration gives the sweater a lower neckline.  I took some pictures with the sleeves scrunched up to 3/4 length, and some at their normal length.  They are extra long sleeves, which I think look comfortable.

IMG_0915.JPGUnderneath the sweater my doll is actually wearing the silver leotard featured in this outfit.  This is mainly due to the fact that I didn’t have any black knit stretch fabric on hand to make a spaghetti tank to wear underneath the sweater.  I plan on adding a tank underneath when I have the fabric.
IMG_0908.JPG

The skirt is two rectangles of fabric measuring about 20″ by 7″ (I’m not sure I’m just guesstimating).  The two rectangles are red 2mm sequin fabric over black chiffon.  The black chiffon I up-cycled from a human skirt.  Although both fabrics are see through when standing alone, together they are perfectly appropriate.  The black chiffon is about a fourth of an inch shorter than the red, allowing the red to hang a little longer.  The two fabrics are joined at the waistband with a fold-over elastic casing.  I used 10 1/2″ of black elastic.
IMG_0900.JPG

I made the necklace by twisting white embroidery floss and tying it off.  I have a Christmas charm bracelet that I have had for a few years and never worn.  I decided it was time to make use of it and took off this snowman charm and put it on the white floss.  The charms are a perfect size for dolls.  Necklace!

IMG_0904.JPG

I added some leggings to the ensemble as an afterthought. These leggings were featured in this outfit.IMG_0906.JPG

The shoes are Tree House Studio, which are sold at Hobby Lobby.  I used them in this outfit too.

IMG_0910.JPG

IMG_0912.JPG

Leave a comment

Filed under Accessories, American Girl Doll Clothing Patterns, Shoes, Skirts, Tops

Leave a Reply

