Kidz ‘n Cats Sparkle Grey Oufit

standing full body

This outfit includes loose black leggings (that go to the ankle), a short skirt, a plain white tee, a headband, and a string bag.

So!  The leggings I based off an American Girl doll pattern I found here.  Despite the size difference between the two dolls, they fit my Kidz doll very well.  The only change I would make in a future pair is adding more to the top, so that the waistband can be a little farther up on her belly.  I extended the pant legs a few inches (the pattern was for below the knee leggings) and curve them in to follow the line of the doll’s calf.   When I have the ability, I will scan and upload the pattern I made for the leggings.

The skirt is an elastic tube a the top, and hemmed on the bottom.  The fabric I used has sparkles on it, which I’m not sure are visible in the photos.

For the headband I used a strip of cloth 10 1/2 inches by 2 inches.  I made a tube, top stitched, and added 1 1/2 inch of elastic.  If you would like detailed instructions on how to make it, go here.  That’s the instructions I used, although once I had the measurements I did my own thing.  The instructions that I linked do call for 2 1/2 inches of elastic, but the headband was too loose with that much elastic so I omitted an inch of it.  Something to keep in mind.

The shirt is this pattern here.  I use this t-shirt pattern most often because it’s free and easy.  I already had this shirt made for my American Girl Doll.  When I put it on my Kidz doll, it was rather loose so I changed a few things and took it in on the sides 1/4 inch.  I think I may shorten the sleeves as well in the future.

Lastly, the string bag.  The pattern for it is on Doll it Up.  I printed a small Mickey Mouse head image and cut it out in corresponding fabric.  It adds a nice little touch.  I really like Disney, so whenever I have the chance, I throw something Disney into the outfits!  My mistake for the bag: I made the braided straps too short.  I originally made the bag for my AG doll, but the straps were too short making the bag too tight.  Therefore, I gave it to my Kidz doll because she is smaller.  I will be making another one of these soon for my AG doll, this time I will make the straps long enough!

More pictures:

front sittingside sittingback sitting

1 Comment

Filed under Kidz n Cats Clothing Patterns

One response to “Kidz ‘n Cats Sparkle Grey Oufit

  1. Pingback: Kidz ‘n Cats Boots | The By Kids for Kids Blog

Leave a Reply

