Excerpt from Next Stop

Here is a short excerpt from my book Next Stop.  You can find a link to the book’s Amazon or Barnes and Noble page here.

 

Dear Mama,

            I’m in Gold Creek, living with a kind young lady named Mrs. Clapps.  She is boarding me for very little.  I am very well taken care of by her.  I have a job and have sent along the first amount of money I received, after I took out the rent for Mrs. Clapps.  It should be enough to pay for Gretel’s school fee, and a bit more for anything you find you need.

            Write me often, Mrs. Clapps will read the letters.  Tell me if you hear from Father. 

            I miss you all.  Do not fret about me.  Mrs. Clapps is God fearing. 

 

            With Much Love,

                                    Fanny    

Leave a comment

Filed under Articles

Leave a Reply

